About us

The Bundessortenamt introduces itself

The Bundessortenamt is an independant senior federal authority under the supervision of the Federal Ministry of  Food and Agriculture. It is responsible for granting of Plant Breeders' Rights, the registration of varieties in the National List and for variety and seed affairs.

To the functions of the Bundessortenamt belongs also the co-operation at the advancement variety and seeds-legal framework on national and to international level.

The Bundessortenamt has 7 trial stations for variety testing (see map) throughout Germany, with about 630 ha of agricultural land in the various cultivation and climatic regions. Approximately  15,000 m² are available for greenhouse cultivation. Further tests are carried out at 450 trial sites in the Federal Lands or on the basis of bilateral agreements at test sites belonging to other UPOV-member states.

More information is given in the brochure "Federal Plant Variety Office – Plant Breeders’ Rights and National Listing"(German and English edition). It can be downloaded or ordered directly: info@bundessortenamt.de.

Organization of the Bundessortenamt

The Bundessortenamt is arranged into three divisions:

  • Division 1: Administration
    Adminsitrative tasks, personnel, household, IT
  • Division 2: Testing of Value of Cultivation and Use, Testing of Distinctness, Uniformity and Stability, Genetic Resources
    Tasks in connection with registration in the National Variety List, Tasks in connection with granting Plant Breeders'Rights, Plant Genetic Resources
  • Division 3: Test Management
    Trial stations, variety diagnostics
  • Examination Boards: Plant Breeders'Rights
    Decisions in procedures for granting Plant Breeders'Rights are seized by a examination board, which consists in each case of an expert member of the Bundessortenamt. At present there are 10 examination boards for the different plant species.
  • Variety commitees: National Listing of plant varieties
    Variety committees decide on the registration in the National Variety List. A variety committee consist of three expert members of the Bundessortenamt. For the different plant species there are ten variety committees.
Logo The Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture - External Link Opens in new window